Unrequited   5 comments

I know you don’t love me
the way in which i do
Even though you say, “I do”,
it is too generic, too casual
For the whirl of intensity
I am caught in,
when I am around you.

This is just a small letter
to tell you that I am aware
this love is unrequited
and yet, with this, I am okay
And if you’re wondering why,
then let me tell you,
I have time to spare,
emotions to share,
and vulnerabilities to bare.
So my dear man,
just bear with all my songs
of ideal love though this is not,
for I am aware, you are just a flame
unaffected by the moth.

Tossing feathers on high winds
sometimes takes its toll,
when I question myself about you,
I feel out of control.
You do a great job,
of putting me out of my mind,
that is what I’ve been trying
to throw the past behind
You are that cord in between
that I often get strung up on
and yet when I dissolve,
it turns me into a song
What alchemy is this
I still fail to grasp
this chemistry of minds
opens up the wounds of my heart

So here I end this letter
with a goodbye to this tangle
letting things be quiet
for a while to let it settle
some strains have come undone
you are not “the one”
the awareness has disrobed
into knowing, i can be alone
I have dreams to build,
visions to fulfill,
and promises just mine solely.
So my dear man,
just bear with these smoky trails
of a love affair ending
for this connection we share
is just to make me aware, I was missing.

 

Courtesy Rumi page on Facebook

 

Posted October 18, 2012 by Deepti G Gujar in Blogroll

5 responses to “Unrequited

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on Our Eternal Consciousness and commented:
    “So here I end this letter
    with a goodbye to this tangle
    letting things be quiet
    for a while to let it settle
    some strains have come undone
    you are not “the one”
    the awareness has disrobed
    into knowing, i can be alone”

  2. D!
    I am beginning to appreciate your poetry.

    //for I am aware, you are just a flame / unaffected by the moth.
    That’s an absolute smasher of a line.

    …and the poem reminds me of The Holiday and it’s heart felt examination of Unrequited Love.

    Beautiful.

    – Serendipity.

  3. i have read your blog and your poetry for the first time today….mesmerised is all i can say….i can connect….the best is at the cost of pain, i know….

Leave a Reply

